Combating Assault And Domestic Violence Charges

Did you know that in Ohio, you can be charged with assault or domestic violence for simply making someone believe that he or she was in imminent danger? You don't even have to touch the person to be arrested. Especially in cases like this, where it may be the other person's word against yours, it's critical to get a knowledgeable advocate on your side. You need someone who can effectively present YOUR side of the story.

At Ross, Midian & Breitmayer, LLC, our criminal defense attorneys have countless hours of courtroom experience in Columbus and the surrounding areas. We have obtained favorable results at all stages of the litigation process including motion hearings and trial, as well as obtaining complete dismissals without the risks associated with going to trial.

Our reputation and experience mean that you can trust us with your future. We will vigorously defend your rights and obtain the best results possible under the facts and circumstances of your case.

Assault Penalties Differ

In some cases, assault is considered a first-degree misdemeanor. The penalties for such an offense are up to 180 days in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.

However, depending on the circumstances, assault can be a far more serious offense. For instance, if you are alleged to have committed serious bodily injury to another, you can face up to eight years in prison. If the offense is committed with a firearm, an additional three years of mandatory prison time can be aggregated.

Even if you are not alleged to have committed serious bodily injury, assault can still be a felony offense. For instance, if you enter school property and assault a teacher, you can face up to one year of prison time and up to $2,500 in fines. Or, if you are convicted of aggravated assault against a peace officer, you will be in danger of up to five years of prison time and up to $10,000 in fines.

Can I Be Charged With Domestic Violence Against Someone Outside My Family?

Most domestic violence cases involve a family or household member such as a spouse, parent, child or in-law. In Ohio, however, you can be charged with this crime if the alleged incident involves a boyfriend or girlfriend, a roommate or someone else who lives with you.

Is Self-Defense An Acceptable Defense?

Depending on your situation, the legal team at Ross, Midian & Breitmayer, LLC, might be able to prove that you were acting in self-defense. We will work to show the court that you used a reasonable degree of force to protect yourself or someone else from harm.

Contact Our Lawyers Today For A Consultation

Call our Columbus office at 614-228-4488 or contact Ross, Midian & Breitmayer, LLC, online to discuss the assault or domestic violence charges you face.