Fighting High Test OVI Charges In Ohio

If this is the first time you have been charged with operating a vehicle impaired (OVI) in Ohio, you likely have many questions and concerns. One of your most important questions is probably, "What penalties am I facing?"

The answer to that question depends heavily on whether your test results came back low or high. A "high test" OVI carries much greater penalties than a "low test" OVI.

At the Columbus law firm of Ross, Midian & Breitmayer, LLC, our OVI/DUI defense attorneys are here to fight for you. Whether this is your first drunk driving offense or you have multiple convictions on your record, you can rely on our team to do everything we can to minimize the penalties you face. In some cases — such as those involving errors in police procedure or faulty tests — it may be possible to get the charges dropped entirely.

How Do I Know If My Results Are High Or Low?

If you took a breath test and the results were .17 or greater, you will likely be charged with high test OVI. If you took a urine test, the results need to be .238 or greater to count as "high."

Are The Consequences Of A Conviction Really That Serious?

A high test OVI can carry very significant consequences indeed. These include:

  • Between six days and six months in jail
  • Between $375 and $1,075 in fines
  • Between six months and three years of driver's license suspension
  • Embarrassing yellow license plates on your vehicle
  • Potential installation of an ignition interlock device

Get A Defense Lawyer On Your Side Today

Call Ross, Midian & Breitmayer, LLC, to schedule a consultation with one of our drunk driving defense attorneys: 614-228-4488. You can also reach us by email. The sooner you contact us, the sooner we can get started developing a strategy that works for you.